Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keef's Micawber Tele.......a replica project

Forum Member

Keef's Micawber Tele.......a replica project

I posted this at the FDP forum a month or so ago. I posted it to share with other Keef fanatics what I've been working on for the last 2 years. Of course that, unintentionally, invited one gomer to criticize ad nauseum my intent with this project. He wouldn't let up that I have it strung for 6 string rather than 5 string playing. "I've missed the feel of Keith's Micawber by having it strung for 6 string play". It wasn't my intent to build a guitar I couldn't play. I am in no way able to play alternate tunings with 5 strings in any musical way. So either this is strung and tuned for 5 string open G............then hang it on the wall....................or set it up where I can actually play it.......6 strings, standard tuning.

By the same argument, how dare the SRV strat be called a replica of Lenny when most people don't down tune a half step..........nor do they string it up with 12s. Damn! Its still a Lenny replica!

Oh, and the same guy was all over me for being so "self congratulating". Man, forgive me for being happy with how this turned out!

Regardless, it turned out pretty good and I PLAY IT! If keef would like a go on it I'd happily pull the bottom E and tune it to open G for him. No worries Keith........I'll set it up how you like it.

Anyway, here is my "cut and paste" of the same post from the FDP.......enjoy:

Have a look at the shots in my "Micawber" album.

http://www.msnusers.com/NewR8/micawber.msnw?albumlist=2

Here's the story: