Thread: Is this an OK Bass?

Is this an OK Bass?

Ok, I'm a drummer that messes around with guitars. I've been thining of picking up a bass to mess around with. After all, I don't have a roadie for the drums and they're getting harder for me to schlep around. I may want to slide over to playing bass in the next year or so. I've been looking at these for a week or so and it seems thaey go for around $200 - $ 250 on ebay. Would this be a decent bass or should I stick with a MIM jazz bass. I guess I really have no preference other than I like the looks of the Jazz over the P bass.
    Suggestions?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
    If, at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving.
    Two leaps per chasm is fatal!

Re: Is this an OK Bass?

Those do have their fans (most of them are chiropractors), but you'd be much better off with a nice MIM Fender. Find one with a good neck that you like and the most you'll ever need to do will be a pickup upgrade, but I wouldn't even worry about that if it isn't your primary instrument.

The offerings from Rondo Music (SX, Agile, etc) also get good reviews for budget instruments, and are much cheaper. I think doc450 has one.

www.rondomusic.bigstep.com
    "Go Team Venture!"

Yup.

I've never bought one of their assembled guitars, but I did buy a raw body from them and was very happy with the price and level of service.

I plan on picking up one of their Strat copies, or maybe one of their budget
    P-90 offerings in the future.
    "Go Team Venture!"

I got that Squire in my avatar (Squire Telecaster Custom II) for $207. It has P-90s. After I did some work getting the frets ends dressed up and the tone pots working, it's ended up being a pretty nice guitar.

Now, Would I be better off with the SX from Rondo and doing a pick-up upgrade, or just dong a MIM Jazz bass. Would I need to swap out the pups in the Naftajazzer?