Thread: Kinman FV-HMS Noiseless Pickups

Kinman FV-HMS Noiseless Pickups

G'day - just saying hello and posting a review of this product.

I've been playing guitar off-and-on since about 1963 as a rank amateur - greatly influenced by Hank Marvin and The Shadows.

Not sure what put me on to the 'Kinman' site http://www.kinman.com but what I read there, along with Hank's personal testimonial was enough to close the deal.

I purchased the FV-HMS pickup set along with the K9 solderless harness kit (multiple pickup selections/mixes, new pots, knobs etc).

The web-site ordering process was straight-forward. Order tracking was informative.

My order arrived well-packaged and in good condition.

Installation was easy - though some details varied very slighty from the install-PDF.

My set-up questions posted on the site were promptly and helpfully responded to.

Now - the sound.......

First - yep - there is absolutely no hum on any pickup selection at any volume.

Second - does the tone match Hank's style? According to my (admittedly amateur) ears - ABSOLUTELY!!! Not that Hank would have anything to fear from my playing ability!

Was it all worth it? Certainly. Would I have made the purchase knowing what I do now? Definately.
    Amateur - started playing about 1963 - MIM Standard Strat (2007) Kinman FV-HMS pickups/K9 pots, GFS steel-block tremolo, VML Easy-Mute arm; MagicstopmEFTP/Zoom 508 Delay; Marshall VS30R Valvestate

Re: Kinman FV-HMS Noiseless Pickups

I found that site pretty painful as I had to log In and create an account just to get a price !!!!

How much are those Pickups in US Dollars anyway ?

I had bought a set of Woodsrocks and Trad Mk II. Neither did it for me. I ignored the Hank Marvin soundclips, for some stupid reason. I recently listened to them and realized those were the ones I should have ordered. Now money is tight and I can't afford them.

Love both Tele sets he sells, especially the Broadcaster set!