Thread: Does 15 x 2 = 30...?

Forum Member

Does 15 x 2 = 30...?

OK... newbie (to both guitar and this forum) so be gentle...

I took up guitar as a covid hobby, so I'm a novice in every respect... but I'm also a little bit of a mad scientist at heart, so I can't leave stuff alone.

If this should be in the Tech/Repairs area, let me know...

I know just enough about electronics to be dangerous, so I'd like to know if this idea is even do-able (don't ask why, just play along like I'm not nuts).

I have a Frontman 15B (no gain) and a Frontman 15G (Gain)... If I build a suitable enclosure, can the two be wired together to create a single amp head?

Basically, creating a 2-channel amp from two 1-channel amps?

If so, would the power output double (30 watts)? Or would I have two 15 watt channels?

I have collected some assorted speakers, so I could conceivably make a 2x8 cab in almost any Impedance, depending on how I wire the cab. Both amps are 8phm, I believe.

I know most of the posts in this section are about Princetons, Deluxes and Twins... but I'm no where close to that level...

Any help would be appreciated...

FBM (FretBuzzMan)

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

Re: Does 15 x 2 = 30...?

Trust me, you're better off getting an A/B/Y footswitch and leaving your amps unmolested. And when you outgrow those Frontmans (or more likely they self-immolate and you hookshot them into a convenient dumpster) you'll find a use for that footswitch with your new rig.
    "When injustice becomes law then rebellion becomes duty."

Forum Member

Totally get that... but as a soon to be retired guy with time and idle hands... I still want to...

So the question remains... Can it be done...? suggestions for how...?

FBM

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

I guess my initial opinion was too polite so I'll just say this......you're pissing in the wind.