Thread: MXR Compressor

MXR Compressor

I've had it about a year and a half. Sure, I get a bit of sustain out of it, but it colors the tone too much. I can't really see any benefit to using it. It's coming off my pedal board.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Re: MXR Compressor

Yep, had one but it colors too much! See if you can get a BBE "Opto Stomp", MUCHO better!!! I use it in my bass rig cuz it doesn't change your tone at all. With that and a SansAmp Bassdriver I can get just about any SS bass head to sound and feel like a tube head. I want to get another Opto Stomp for my guitar board for when I play my 12 string.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

I've heard good things about the Octo-Stomp. I don't know if I'd ever use it. Besides, that's just more room on my pedal board for my Banshee Talk Box--the most wonderfully useless pedal that I plan tol overuse next gig...
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

I bought and returned an MXR compressor. I couldn't stand what it did to my sound.

I have a friend's Joe Meek FloorQ. It's incredibly transparent- so much that it didn't seem to do anything at first. Then, mid song, I realized everything just seemed easier to play and really "popped".

It's great, but I have a hard time giving up the space and money for something that's so subtle.

Gravity Jim

The only compressor I've found that I really like is the Barber Tone Press. You make it go all spongey and "MXR-y" if you want, but mostly I use it for what it seems to do best... a smooth, transparent "push".

Yeah, the MXR is squishy, and it makes it sound like I'm playing cheap plastic strings with a felt button as a pick--and that starts at super low settings. I even think at the time I bought it, someone on these pages said that it colors the sound too much.