Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Useful is Fuzz?

Forum Member

How Useful is Fuzz?

I'm looking into something new to step on. I don't really want a pedal that's gimmicky or only good for one song (since I don't have money or pedalboard space) and was thinking of a fuzz.

But I have heard that fuzz sounds great while you're alone, and kind of gets lost in a band.

Who uses it regularly in a band setting? Is it something you use a lot? Right now I use two overdrives and occasionally a slapback delay. I play fairly classic rock, blues, funk

Re: How Useful is Fuzz?

Meh.
    I've always hated fuzz.
    Natural sounding overdrive sounds much better.
    There's only a very few songs that use it that I would play anyhow.

Forum Member

It seems totally useless for anything but one-note stuff, but it can sound kind of cool for that.

i only like it when i play bass.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

I use a little big muff pi and as previously stated it's really good for soloing or single note stuff. If you're looking for a nice distortion keep looking for something else, these do get lost in the mix, especially with more than one guitarist. It'll work only "ok" as a three piece. If you're into some of the Hendrix tones, a fuzz can get used a lot, but not exclusively. It wasn't the only tool in Jimi's toolbox. For some groovy 60's rock tunes, a fuzz performs nicely, as in "Spirit In The Sky" or "Bang A Gong". Fuzz is also a good tool on certain Red Hot Chili Pepper's tunes.

I use mine at different times just to achieve different tones, but it's not something I use or would want to use exclusively.

Meso, those were the tunes I was thinking of, along with a few other 60'-70'ss songs. (Hair of the Dog).

I've found even those old ones come more alive with a good, overdriven tube sound.
    Although not original sounding...I think SRV brought some Jimi songs to life with a lot of overdrive as opposed to that fuzz.

Forum Member