Thread: Anyone ever put a Bigsby on a Telecaster??

Anyone ever put a Bigsby on a Telecaster??

I'm thinking this would be a cool idea for my Muddy Waters Tele. One song I play in one of my bands requires some Hank Marvin-style vibrato, which I used Wayne the super Strat for on the recording. But as much as it hurts me to say it Wayne is not as good looking, plus I prefer the tone and feel of the tele for all the other songs and don't feel like packing more gear. Besides, if my imagination serves me correctly a Bigsby would just look badass on a sonic blue tele!

So if you've got one, let's see some pics!

I'm also curious which model is the best choice, anybody know (Chuckocaster probably would)? I guess the B-16 looks like it would fit over the bridge/pickup assembly but man is it ugly!

Evanston IL, or Bluffton OH... which ever comes first.

Re: Anyone ever put a Bigsby on a Telecaster??

I have no personal experience to share but this thread could use some phtots IMHO.

"The other Shaltanac's joopleberry shrub is always a more mauvy shade of pinky-russet."

"there's NOTHING WRONG with a live penguin, but...I expected a hamburger!"

i have a b5 on my thinline.
    not the best pic, but you get the idea. hopefully it'll be out of the shop (i'm having it painted) so i can shoot some nice pics of it!

a b16 requires a lot of shimming. one of my friends on www.telemodders.com (paul setzer) even frenched his 16 into his tele. then he decided to relief cut the top as opposed to frenching it. there are quite a few bisby'd teles over on that site, search around and you should find some uberkool pics.

anyways, my thoughts are that the b5 and the stock bridge are the easiest way to go. you just need to notch the back of the bridge plate (must be the old skool one) and you should be good to go. if not a slight shim should take care of any issues.

i must say, the b16 looks cool as hell. but you can pick up the b50's for pretty darn cheap.