Thread: ´62 Jazzmaster?

´62 Jazzmaster?

Is 3400 US bux to much for a ´62 Jazzmaster? Refinished Burgundymist metallic with matching headstrock. I´m thinking of offer him 2500, is that realistic? A strat or a tele from that era would catch 3 times those money, at least. Is it this modell or the Jaguar that has a crapy bridge? Can´t remember, seldom see one of those beauties anymore!

Re: ´62 Jazzmaster?

Original case to!

I'm not an expert on vintage prices so hopefully someone else will chime in. I do know that they bring significantly less money than Strats or Tele's though, which is not necessarily justified but its a supply/demand kind of thing I guess. I believe both the Jazzmaster and the Jaguar have the same bridge. I couldn't tell you first hand if it's "crappy", but I suspect that the bridge will have issues only if you do some heavy-handed playing, which IMHO, is not what this guitar is about. I've got a '62 reissue on layaway and it's coming home soon. I did not perceive any issues with the bridge when I tried it out in the store.

A recent perusal of the ads in Vintage Guitar magazine revealed that dealers are asking upwards of $6000-$8000 for original finish Jazzmasters of that vintage depending on rarity of color and condition. That would make a refinned model for $3200 not seem unreasonable but there are several negotiating points.

It would depend on
    • the overall condition,
    • the quality of the refin (does it look professional or like barn paint applied with a broom),
    • was the headstock re-shot when the body was done or is it original with the original Logo,
    • are the electronics working
    • are the electronics original
    • was the hardware changed
    • are the parts original to this guitar or was it pieced together from several guitars
    • is the original case included (should be brown for 1962)
    • original frets