Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How come vintage mustang are cheap?

How come vintage mustang are cheap?

it's like, you can get a 196X mustang for 1000 dollars. Ain't it cheap for a vintage guitar?

Forum Member

Re: How come vintage mustang are cheap?

The mustang was originally produced as a cheaper starter guitar, a step above the music master and bronco, but a step below the telecaster and stratocaster. some had 22.5" scale necks (which could be upgraded to a 24" scale neck, same as a jaguar). im not an expert on these, so others may be able to help more than i.

Gravity Jim

They're cheap (if you can call $1,000 for a student model guitar "cheap") because there are no photos of SRV or Hendrix playing one.

Quote Originally Posted by Gravity Jim View Post
    They're cheap (if you can call $1,000 for a student model guitar "cheap") because there are no photos of SRV or Hendrix playing one.

and the winner is........................JIM

come on down.
    Imanidiot.

i had a mustang for a bit, and actually liked the musicmaster i had immediately after that better (go figure).the musicmaster had a single dogear P-90 and a gibson-branded bigsby. AND it stayed in tune. cool, lol.

you see, in the late 80's and early 90's it actually *was* cool to have these guitars, if you were new-rockers, that is. the then-no-names such as kurt cobain often played the lesser fender guitars, who, aside from what you might think of him, left quite a speed bump in the history of rock.

Forum Member

Damn right GJ. Maybe Leon Hendrix will come out with a Fender Swinger and a story of how Jimi breathed on it. I can see prices rising 300%...

Gravity Jim

toobalicious, I agree... but Nirvana-heads don't have vintage money yet. Wait til the Gen X fans of Kurt (who I admired greatly as a songwriter, I might add) are in their 50's and selling their internet businesses. Those pics of him and Liz Phair will drive Jag-stang prices through the roof.

Forum Member