Thread: Bending Bridge

Forum Member

Bending Bridge

Sorry I'm really new to Strats, I was taught on a Epiphone when I was a kid but I just aquired a Standard Strat with a Regular Whammy bar. When I add 10 gauge ernie Ball strings the Bridge will lift up quite a bit (Maybe an inch or so) is this normal? Should I try Fender strings? Should I go for a lighter gauge? Please help!

Re: Bending Bridge

The tension of the strings is counterbalanced by springs in the back. Open up the square back panel on your strat. You probably have three springs back there. You'll need to add another. The tension can also be adjusted by screwing in the small claw-like plate the springs are attached to (toward neck, opposite trem block). That's more fine-adjustment. You need at least one more spring.

Good luck.

Welcome to the forum!
    s'all goof.

You can get by with three springs and 10's, just tighen the claw a bit. Fender spec is 1/8" gap between the bridge plate and the body. I have three springs in mine now and 10's. I used to have five springs, but went back to three.

Strats are great, but they do take a bit of education to really learn to love them.
    The Best Guitar Photos On The Net!
    Photoweborama